Pimped Out Knee Scooter

As much “fun” as crutches can be, I looked into alternative mobility aids before my surgery. I came across a crutch that basically made you walk like a pirate with a peg leg (although pirates don’t have their lower leg on a platform behind them when using said peg leg). I knew for sure that I wasn’t going to use that, so I looked into a knee scooter. It’s this nifty thing that has a padded cushion you rest your lower leg and knee on, four wheels, and handlebars. I like to call it my alternative bike because I can’t live without my wheels.

Here’s what the knee scooter looked like before I added my personality to it.

There were a lot of different options, but I just got the cheapest one with good reviews. It ended up costing around $100, but it’s paid for itself a couple times over in the sheer convenience and safety it’s given me. I can cook with both of my hands, I can go out in the snowy Michigan weather without worrying so much about slipping, and I can carry most things pretty well with it. I use this downstairs, but I still have my crutches for upstairs (because there’s no way I could even try to drag the scooter up and down a flight of stairs).

As you guys all know by now, I can’t just leave anything plain. I needed to add a personal touch to it. The first thing I did was go to the dollar store and buy a basket to attach to the front so I could carry things more easily. I attached it with Velcro strips that most people use to wrap excess lengths of cording. I also picked up a string of flamingo lights from the same dollar store to wrap around the basket.

For the finishing touches, I used colored duct tape and ribbon to wrap the frame. It’s pretty obnoxious-looking, but I definitely stand out. I get compliments on it when I go out shopping; it’s certainly a conversation starter! My favorite line so far has been, “Roll on, sista’. You got dis!”, said to me by someone I had never met before, but we stopped and talked a while and he wished me a good recovery when we parted ways.

The ribbon has since fallen off the seat due to use, but everything else is holding up great!

This is easily the best purchase I’ve made for my surgery, although the shower stool I bought was a close second. It’s all about making things as easy as they can be.

Leave a comment